Click here for map of Missouri.
Places to Visit in Missouri

Missouri is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States of America. It is bordered by eight states: Iowa, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas and Nebraska. Missouri was originally purchased from France as part of the Louisiana Purchase. The Missouri Territory was admitted into the union as the 24th state in 1821. The state has 114 counties and one independent city.

It is a state with both Midwestern and Southern cultural influences, reflecting its history as a border state between the two regions. The state is named after the Missouri Siouan Indian tribe whose Illinois name, ouemessourita (wimihsoorita), meaning "those who have dugout canoes". The confluence of the Mississippi and Missouri rivers is located in Missouri.

*Information and picture from

TOEFL and TOEIC are registered and administered by Educational Testing Service (ETS).
No connection with is implied.
Last updated: 15 February, 2010 02:43:16